eNews from The Auto Gallery
June 2010
    mobile menu  
 Bookmark & Share:                   
2005 Porsche Carrera GT Coupe $298,660


2007 Lamborghini Gallardo Spider $145,900


2010 Lamborghini Murcielago LP670-4 SV


2007 Bentley Continental GTC $129,650


Audi Homepage
Ferrari Homepage
Maserati Homepage
Porsche Homepage

The new Audi A8 - The sportiest sedan in the luxury class
The Auto Gallery Audi Price Guarantee
Cartier, Tiffany, Audi? A new kind of style
The Auto Gallery takes delivery of their 1st 458 Italia
2008 Porsche Boxster 2dr Roadster S $55,997
2011 Porsche Panamera/Panamera 4 - First Drive Review
2005 Porsche Carrera GT Coupe $298,660
Audi’s Certified Pre-Owned Program Leaves No Stone Unturned
The 2010 Audi A4 Sprints to the Finish Line
Green from Head to Toe
Experience the Magic of Moscow
Tap into the Power of Protein
Uncover the Roots of Your Family Tree
And the Rocket’s Red Glare…
Cab the Fever
Still Spicy
2007 Lamborghini Gallardo Spider $145,900
2010 Lamborghini Murcielago LP670-4 SV
2007 Bentley Continental GTC $129,650
2008 Ferrari F430 Spider $209,850
2007 Ferrari F430 Coupe $169,850
2010 Lamborghini Gallardo LP560-4 Spider
2007 Audi A8 4dr Sedan $37,887
2007 Porsche 911 2DR Cabriolet Carrera 4S $74,997
2008 Porsche Cayenne S 4dr AWD SUV $56,997
2010 Maserati Quattroporte Sedan
Audi sweeps the 24 Hours of Le Mans after Peugeot fails to finish
Supercar Sunday is a high-octane breakfast treat in Southern California
Lamborghini sets record with 10,000th Gallardo
Audi and Google are winning combination at Telematics Awards 2010
Audi R8 E-tron hits the road for testing
Maserati Master GT Driving Course
70th Anniversary of the Maserati victory at the Indianapolis 500
The NEW Ferrari 458
Polymer vs. Carnauba Wax – Just the Facts, Please
2007 Audi Q7 Quattro 4dr 3.6L Premium SUV $29,498
Fill in the fields below to receive an email each time we post a new issue of our newsletter:
Email Address:

First Name:

Last Name:

Phone Number:

Tell A Friend
Audi sweeps the 24 Hours of Le Mans after Peugeot fails to finish
No one saw this coming: Audi claimed all three podium positions at the 24 Hours of Le Mans on Sunday--after all four LMP1-class Peugeots retired from the race.

This year’s Audi R15-Plus turbodiesel prototype was no match for Peugeot’s 908 HDi on pace, but it outlasted its French rival to give Audi its ninth victory in the 24 Hours. Timo Bernhard, Romain Dumas and Mike Rockenfeller ended up winning the race for the German manufacturer as a result of their R15 experiencing fewer problems than those of their Audi teammates.

Bernhard took the checkered flag a lap ahead of the second-place Audi of Marcel Fassler, Andre Lotterer and Benoit Treluyer, while the third R15 driven by Tom Kristensen, Allan McNish and Rinaldo Capello finished three laps behind the winners. The last remaining Peugeot retired in the 23rd hour.

Peugeot remained at the top of the timesheets until 7 a.m. on Sunday morning, 14 hours into the race. Franck Montagny was leading aboard the 908 that he shared with Stephane Sarrazin and Nicolas Minassain when a dramatic engine failure caused near instant retirement.

Engine failures also accounted for the Peugeot driven by Anthony Davidson, Alexander Wurz and Marc Gene--which was closing on second place after losing time with an alternator failure earlier in the race--and also the semi-works Oreca-run entry. The first of the four 908s in the race retired early when a suspension wishbone pulled out of the tub of the pole-winning car shared by Pedro Lamy, Simon Pagenaud and Sébastien Bourdais.

Bernhard, Dumas and Rockenfeller had a trouble-free race interrupted only by an unscheduled stop to replace a wing mirror after hitting a photographer in the pit lane. That put them ahead of Fassler, Lotterer and Treluyer, who lost time with two nose-cone changes after minor offs.

The Kristensen/McNish/Capello car led the Audi charge early on, but a clash with one of the BMW M3 GT2 cars resulted in the loss of three laps from which there was no way back.

Audi Sport boss Wolfgang Ullrich described this year’s Le Mans as the “toughest yet” for the company.

“Peugeot gave us a lot of work to do,” he said, “but we pulled back our performance deficiencies and got quicker and quicker through the race.”

The best gasoline-powered car behind the diesels was Oreca’s own AIM-engined open-top contender in fourth place after the best-placed Aston Martin Racing Lola coupe went out with engine failure with 50 minutes remaining. The car driven by Soheil Ayari, Andy Meyrick and Didier Andre had a clean run interrupted only by a clash with another prototype and an unscheduled stop to replace the starter motor.

LMP2 honors went to the fifth-place HPD ARX-01c fielded by the Strakka team. Driven by Danny Watts, Jonny Kane and Nick Leventis, the Strakka entry had the legs of the identical Highcroft Racing HPD machine, which dropped to eighth in class at the finish after engine problems relegated it to the ranks of the walking wounded.

Porsche returned to the GT2 winner’s circle at Le Mans after an absence of three seasons. The Felbermayr-Proton Porsche 911 GT3-RSR raced by factory drivers Marc Lieb, Richard Lietz and Wolf Henzler took class honors at the end of a race in which it was barely a contender for most of its duration. Chevrolet’s Corvette C6.R and Ferrari’s F430 GT looked set to fight for the win, but problems put that expectation to rest.

The Corvette driven by Oliver Gavin, Olivier Beretta and Emmanuel Collard scrapped with the Risi Competizione Ferrari for much of the first half of the race. The Risi car, which was bidding for a seventh-straight class victory in the big sports-car enduros, went out with gearbox failure, while both Chevys succumbed to engine failure.

Meanwhile, the last GT1 winner before the class disappears from Le Mans next year went to a car that has sought victory in the higher GT category for a decade. The Saleen S7R, which first raced at Le Mans in 2000, claimed the win in the hands of the French Larbre Competition team.

Published by The Auto Gallery
Includes copyrighted material of IMakeNews, Inc. and its suppliers.
    mobile menu  
 Bookmark & Share:                   
Powered by IMN